Solway picked for Chairman's XI


QUEANBEYAN batsman Dean Solway will represent the Australian Chairman’s XI against Sri Lanka when the two side’s clash at Manuka Oval later this week.

Solway is a Queanbeyan junior and represented the Bluebags with distinction in recent years. He currently plies his trade with Adelaide club Prospect and is a member of the South Australian Redbacks Academy program. 

The Cricket Australia (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) announced on Friday a 12-player squad for the Chairman’s XI match against Sri Lanka which will be held over three days from Thursday, December 6-8.

Commenting on the team, National Selector John Inverarity said: “It is a talented team that has an ideal mix of youth and experience.”

“Usman Khawaja has been nominated as captain. He, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Doolan and Scott Henry have been released from their BBL franchises to take this opportunity to further their experience in the longer form of the game. They are players who have shown some excellent form in recent months and will be looking to enhance their claims for higher honours.

“Dean Solway from the ACT is a talented young batsman who will be keen to impress on his home turf.

“Scott Henry, Marcus Harris, Travis Head and Sam Whiteman are young left-handed batsmen. Each has produced at least one outstanding first-class innings recently and Whiteman will be given an opportunity to display his skills as an accomplished wicket-keeper.

“Luke Butterworth is an experienced medium-fast swing bowler who bowls with great accuracy and will provide great stability to the attack,” Inverarity said.

The Queanbeyan Age is offering 10 lucky readers the opportunity to win tickets to day two of this week's match. 

Just email your name, address and contact number to by close of business Tuesday, December 4.

Entries are open to families with a maximum of four tickets per entry. Competition winners will be randomly drawn and contacted by close of business, Wednesday, December 5. 

Tickets for the match can be purchased via

The Chairman’s XI squad for the tour match is:

Usman Khawaja (QLD) (c)

Luke Butterworth (TAS)

Alex Doolan (TAS)

Matthew Gale (QLD)

Marcus Harris (WA)

Travis Head (SA)

Scott Henry (NSW)

Glenn Maxwell (VIC)

Chadd Sayers (SA)

Dean Solway (ACT)

Ashton Turner (WA)

Sam Whiteman (WA) (wk)

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide