First council meeting

Related coverage:

The eleven new councillors will gather on Wednesday night in an Extraordinary Meeting to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Previously Queanbeyan residents voted for their Mayor, where in Palerang the Mayor was elected by council. Once elected, the Mayor will hold office for two years. The exception to this is the second Mayor, who will hold the office until the next council election in 2020.

The council was announced on Thursday, incorporating seven Queanbeyan based councillors and four Palerang ones. 

Two former Mayors sit on the council, Tim Overall was Mayor of Queanbeyan City Council for eight years, while Pete Harrison was formerly Mayor of Palerang.

Four members of Mr Overall’s ticket took places on council, Mr Overall himself, Trudy Taylor, Peter Bray and Michelle Biscotti. Country Labor’s Brian Brown and Radmila Noveska also made the council, in addition to Mark Schweikert (Liberal), Trevor Hicks, Kenrick Winchester, Peter Marshall (Greens) and Pete Harrison.

The meeting will take place at 5:30pm in the Queanbeyan Council Chambers, with members of the public invited.